Poul Anderson

Poul Anderson (Nov 25, 1926 – Jul 31, 2001) had a long an illustrious SFF writing career, from the 1940s to the 21st century. His work managed to garner seven Hugo Awards and three Nebula Awards. Equally adept at fantasy and hard SF, his work covered almost all bases, from popular series fiction (Ensign Flandry novels) to more serious contemplative works of greater depth (e.g. Tau Zero, or The Boat of a Million Years).  He's one of my favourite SF authors.

Major Awards
Hugo Awards
    The Saturn Game  (Novella 1982)
    Hunter's Moon (Novelette 1979) 
    Goat Song (Novelette 1973) 
    The Queen of Air and Darkness (Novella 1972)
    The Sharing of Flesh (Novelette 1969) 
    No Truce with Kings (Short Story 1964)
    The Longest Voyage (Short Story 1961) 
Nebula Awards:
    The Saturn Game  (Novella 1982) 
    Goat Song (Novelette 1973) 
    The Queen of Air and Darkness (Novella 1972)
SFWA Grand Master (1997)
John W. Campbell Memorial Award (2000)
Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame (2000)
Asteroid 7758 Poulanderson, discovered 1990, was named in his honor.

Favourite Novels:
Tau Zero (1970)
Brainwave (1954)
The Boat of a Million Years (1989)
The Enemy Stars (1959)
The Broken Sword (1954)
The High Crusade (1960)
The People of the Wind (1973)


Poul Anderson has a written a lot. A full and comprehensive bibliography is difficult, but I've done my best to include all his most notable books.
A reading order of his Polesotechnic / Terran Empire work can be found here.

Standalone Novels    
Vault of the Ages (1952)    
The War of Two Worlds (1953)    
Brain Wave (1954)    
The Broken Sword (1954)    
No World of Their Own (1955) - aka The Long Way Home    
Planet of No Return (1956) - aka Question and Answer
The Enemy Stars (1959)    
The Golden Slave (1960)    
The High Crusade (1960)    
Rogue Sword (1960)   
Twilight World (1961)    
After Doomsday (1962)    
The Makeshift Rocket (1962)    
Shield (1963)    
Three Worlds to Conquer (1964)    
The Corridors of Time (1965)    
The Star Fox (1965)    
The Fox, the Dog, and the Griffin (1966)    
World without Stars (1966)    
The Horn of Time (1968)    
Tau Zero (1970)    
Operation Chaos (1971)    
The Byworlder (1971)    
The Dancer from Atlantis (1972)    
There Will Be Time (1973)    
Hrolf Kraki's Saga (1973)    
The Worlds of Poul Anderson (1974)    
Fire Time (1974)    
Inheritors of the Earth (1974) (with Gordon Eklund)    
Homeward and Beyond (1975)    
The Winter of the World (1976)    
Two Worlds (1978)    
The Avatar (1978)    
The Demon of Scattery (1979) (with Mildred Downey Broxon) 
The Merman's Children (1979)    
The Devil's Game (1980)    
Winners (1981)    
Fantasy (1981)    
Conquests (1981)   
Maurai and Kith (1982)    
The Gods Laughed (1982)    
New America (1982)    
Orion Shall Rise (1983)    
Cold Victory: Grassy Knoll (1985)    
No Truce with Kings (1986)    
The Boat of a Million Years (1989)    
Alight in the Void (1991)   
Inconstant Star (1991)    
War of the Gods (1997)    
Starfarers (1998)    
Operation Luna (1999)    
Genesis (2000)    
Mother of Kings (2001)    
For Love and Glory (2003) 

Future history of the Polesotechnic League    
War of the Wing-Men (1958)    
Trader to the Stars (1964)    
The Trouble Twisters (1966)    
Satan's World (1969)    
The Earth Book of Stormgate (1978)    
Mirkheim (1977)    
The People of the Wind (1973)    

Ensign Flandry (1966)    
A Circus of Hells (1970)    
The Rebel Worlds (1966)    
The Day of Their Return (1975)    
Agent of the Terran Empire (1965)    
Flandry of Terra (1965)    
A Knight of Ghosts and Shadows (1975)    
A Stone in Heaven (1979)    
The Game of Empire (1985)    
The Long Night (1983)    
Let the Spacemen Beware! (1963)    
We Claim These Stars (1959)      

Harvest of Stars 
Harvest of Stars (1993) 
The Stars Are Also Fire (1994) 
Renascence (1995) 
Harvest the Fire (1995) 
The Fleet of Stars (1997)

Psychotechnic League    
Cold Victory (1982)    
The Snows of Ganymede (1958)    
Starship (1982)    
Virgin Planet (1959)    
Star Ways (1956) 

Time Patrol    
Guardians of Time (1961)    
Time Patrolman (1983)    
The Year of the Ransom (1988)    
The Shield of Time (1990)    

Gunnar Heim 
The Star Fox (1965) 
Fire Time (1974)   

History of Rustum 
Orbit Unlimited (1961) 
New America (1982)    
Hoka (with Gordon R Dickson)    
Earthman's Burden (1957)    
Star Prince Charlie (1975)    
Hoka! (1983)    
Hokas Pokas (2000)    
Hoka! Hoka! Hoka! (1983)

Trygve Yamamura    
Perish by the Sword (1959)    
Murder in Black Letter (1960)    
Murder Bound (1962)    

Holger Danske    
Three Hearts and Three Lions (1961)    
A Midsummer Tempest (1974)    

Last Viking 
The Golden Horn (1980)   
The Road of the Sea Horse (1980)    
The Sign of the Raven (1980)