Frank Herbert

The science fiction writer Frank Herbert's name has become synonymous with the Dune series of books, though of course he wrote much more than these novels over a long and distinguished SF career. However, the Dune books are his best work, and the titular first novel in the sequence is commonly regarded as being the single greatest novel in the genre. 

Franklin Patrick Herbert Jr. (1920–1986) published his first SF short story (Looking for Something?) in Startling Stories in April 1952. A further half dozen or so short stories followed in the pulps before his first novel publication in 1956, Under Pressure, which was serialised in Astounding the prior year. He is known to have started planning Dune as early as 1959, though it did not begin to be published until 1963, when Astounding serialised Dune World - the first section of what would become the full 1965 novel. The 1963 serialisation came fourth in the 1964 Hugo Awards, but the novel scooped both the Hugo and Nebula Awards and in both 1975 and 1987 was named by Locus as the best SF novel of all time.

Interestingly, despite the enormous success of Dune, the novel was not an immediate commercial success, and before it was published by Chilton, it was rejected by 20 other publishers. What do editors know, huh?


The Dune series
   Dune  (1965)
   Dune Messiah (1969)
   Children of Dune (1976)
   God Emperor of Dune (1981)
   Heretics of Dune (1984)
   Chapterhouse: Dune (1985)
   The Road to Dune (1985) - short story collected in Eye

The Pandora Sequence (also known as the WorShip series)
   Destination: Void (1966) - revised 1978
   The Jesus Incident (1979) - with Bill Ransom
   The Lazarus Effect (1983) - with Bill Ransom
   The Ascension Factor (1988) - with Bill Ransom
   The Pandora Sequence (2012) - with Bill Ransom

The ConSentiency series
   A Matter of Traces (1958) - short story collected in Eye
   The Tactful Saboteur (1964) - short story collected in Eye
   Whipping Star (1970)
   The Dosadi Experiment  (1977)
Standalone novels
   The Dragon in the Sea (aka, Under Pressure, 1956)
   The Green Brain (1966)
   The Eyes of Heisenberg (1966)
   The Heaven Makers (1968)
   The Santaroga Barrier (1968)
   Soul Catcher (1972) - non-genre
   The Godmakers (1972)
   Hellstrom's Hive (1973)
   Direct Descent (1980)
   The White Plague (1982)
   Man of Two Worlds (1986) - with Brian Herbert
   High-Opp  (2012) - posthumous

The Dune Series

My Collection of Dune Books

Dune on Screen