Major Wards won

Larry Niven

Major Awards

Larry Niven, born April 30, 1938, is perhaps most famous for his Known Space novels, which includes his award winning Ringworld, and for numerous collaborative novels and stories with other SF writers. He writes in a clear uncluttered style, and tends to progress grand ideas in a pacy manner in his books.  If you want big ideas almost every chapter, pick up some Niven, you won't be disappointed.

SFWA Grand Master Award, 2015

Hugo Awards  (19 nominations; 5 wins)
The Borderland of Sol, 1976 novelette winner
The Hole Man, 1975 short story winner
Inconstant Moon, 1972 short story winner
Ringworld1971 novel winner
Neutron Star, 1967 short story winner

Nebula Awards (8 nominations; 1 win)
Ringworld1971 novel winner


Larry Niven Bibliography

Compiling a bibliography of Larry Niven's published works is challenging, as he wrote in many series that included both novels and short story collections. It therefore makes sense to list his works by series, not simply by novels and then collections. Moreover, he wrote some series alone, and others with co-authors, and even within some book series there are both solo and collaborative volumes. It therefore doesn't make sense to completely separate out those works he wrote alone, and those he collaborated on. I've listed his main works therefore simply by series, ordering those series based on the publication date of the start of each.  I hope that makes sense!

Tales of Known Space
World of Ptavvs (1966) - great stuff 
A Gift from Earth (1968) 
Neutron Star (1968) - linked short story collection
Ringworld (1970) - Nebula, Hugo and Locus SF Awards winner 
Protector (1973) - excellent, possibly my favourite Niven
Tales of Known Space (1975) - short story collection
The Long ARM of Gil Hamilton (1976) - short story collection, reprinted in Flatlander omnibus
The Ringworld Engineers (1979)
The Man-Kzin Wars (1988) - ongoing short story series, edited by Niven, see below for details
The Patchwork Girl (1980) - included in Flatlander omnibus
Crashlander (1994) - collects Beowulf Shaeffer stories from earlier collections plus two new stories
The Ringworld Throne (1996) 
Ringworld's Children (2004) 
Fleet of Worlds (2007) with Edward M. Lerner 
Juggler of Worlds (2008) with Edward M. Lerner 
Destroyer of Worlds (2009) with Edward M. Lerner 
Betrayer of Worlds (2010) with Edward M. Lerner 
Fate of Worlds (2012) with Edward M. Lerner  

Note: A Reading order for all the Known Spcae short stories and novels can be found here.

Hanville Svetz Stories
The Flight of the Horse (1973) - short story collection
Rainbow Mars (1999) - short story collection

CoDominium Universe
The Mote in God's Eye (1974) with Jerry Pournelle 
The Gripping Hand (1993) with Jerry Pournelle - published as The Moat Around Murcheson's Eye in the UK   

Inferno Series
Inferno (1976) with Jerry Pournelle
Escape from Hell (2009) with Jerry Pournelle

The State
A World Out of Time (1976)
The Integral Trees (1984)
The Smoke Ring (1987)  

The Magic Universe
The Magic Goes Away (1978) - novella
The Magic May Return (1981) - short story collection, mixed authors, one story by Niven
More Magic (1984) - short story collection, mixed authors, one story by Niven
The Burning City (2000) with Jerry Pournelle
Burning Tower (2005) with Jerry Pournelle 

Dream Park Series
Dream Park (1981) with Stephen Barnes
The Barsoom Project (1989) with Stephen Barnes
The California Voodoo Game (1991) with Stephen Barnes
The Moon Maze Game (2011) with Stephen Barnes

Heorot Series
The Legacy of Heorot (1987) with Steven Barnes and Jerry Pournelle
Beowulf's Children (1995) with Stephen Barnes and Jerry Pournelle
Destiny's Road (1997) - located in same universe but essentially a standalone
The Secret of Black Ship Island (2012) with Steven Barnes and Jerry Pournelle - novella  
Starborn & Godsons (2020) with Stephen Barnes and Jerry Pournelle
Bowl of Heaven
Bowl of Heaven (2012) with Gregory Benford 
Shipstar (2014) with Gregory Benford
Glorious (2020) with Gregory Benford

Non-Series/Standalone Novels
The Flying Sorcerors (1971) with David Gerrold
Lucifer's Hammer (1977) with Jerry Pournelle 
Oath of Fealty (1981) with Jerry Pournelle 
The Descent of Anansi (1982) with Steven Barnes 
Berserker Base (1984) with Poul Anderson, Edward Bryant, Stephen R. Donaldson, Fred Saberhagen, Connie Willis, and Roger Zelazn y 
Footfall (1985) with Jerry Pournelle 
Achilles' Choice (1991) with Steven Barnes 
Fallen Angels (1991) with Jerry Pournelle and Michael Flynn 
Saturn's Race (2001) with Steven Barnes 
Harlequin's Moon (2005) with Brenda Cooper 
The Goliath Stone (2013) with Matthew Joseph Harrington 
The Seascape Tattoo (2016) with Steven Barnes

Non-Series Short Story Collections
All the Myriad Ways (1971) 
Inconstant Moon (1973) - includes some Known Space storie s
A Hole in Space (1974) 
Convergent Series (1979) 
Niven's Laws (1984) - reprinted essays and Draco Tavern stories
Limits (1985) - eclectic short story collection, including Draco Tavern stories
N-Space (1990) - compendium includes some Known Space, State and Man-Kzin stories
Playgrounds of the Mind (1991) 
Bridging the Galaxies (1993) - essays and stories 
Scatterbrain (2003) - diverse collection of essays and reprinted fiction
Larry Niven Short Stories Volume 1 (2003) 
Larry Niven Short Stories Volume 2 (2003) 
Larry Niven Short Stories Volume 3 (2003) 
The Draco Tavern (2006) - complete Draco Tavern stories
Stars and Gods (August 2010) - wide ranging reprints of stories and novel excerpts
The Best of Larry Niven (November 2010) - excellent collection of Niven's best short fiction, edited by Jonathan Stahan

Man-Kzin Wars Series
The Man-Kzin books are an ongoing series of story collections, set in Known Space at the time of the Man-Kzin wars, edited by Niven, but not all including original material by Niven. The books in the series are as follows, with stories written by Niven shown for each volume:
The Man-Kzin Wars (1988) - includes The Warriors by Niven
Man-Kzin Wars II (1989) 
Man-Kzin Wars III (1990) - includes Madness Has Its Place by Niven
Man-Kzin Wars IV (1991) 
Man-Kzin Wars V (1992) 
Man-Kzin Wars VI (1994) 
Man-Kzin Wars VII (1995) 
Man-Kzin Wars VIII: Choosing Names (1998) - includes Choosing Names by Niven
The Best of All Possible Wars: The Best of the Man-Kzin Wars (1998) - reprints The Warriors and Madness Has Its Place 
Man-Kzin Wars IX (2002) - includes Fly-By-Night by Niven
Man-Kzin Wars X: The Wunder War (2003) 
Man-Kzin Wars XI (2005) - includes The Hunting Park by Niven
Man-Kzin Wars XII (2009) 
Man-Kzin Wars XIII (2012) 
Man-Kzin Wars XIV (2013) 
Man-Kzin Wars XV (2019)